Open Space Committee

The Open Space Committee periodically prepares and updates an Open Space and Recreation Plan for the Town. The plan focuses on the open spaces, natural resources, and recreational opportunities within the Town and offers recommended goals and strategies for their acquisition, preservation and development. Specific elements of the plan include: Plan Summary; Community Setting; Environmental Inventory and Analysis; Inventory of Lands of Conservation and Recreation Interest; Community Goals; Analysis of Needs, Goals, and Objectives; Five year Action Plan; and Public Comments.

The Open Space Plan outlines a blueprint for the Town to best protect and use its available undeveloped areas and natural resources. The Open Space Plan also serves as a foundation for more comprehensive planning efforts, such as a Town Master Plan or Economic Development Plan, both of which address a range of Town issues such as transportation, infrastructure, housing, water management, and zoning.

Board Members

Name Title
Ted Taranto Clerk
Jane Schulze
Francis Perfetuo Jr.
Vicki Maloney Co-Chairperson
Linda Leddy Co-Chairperson
Charles Quinn
Alan Wheelock
Gavin Murphy
Susan Ossoff